Industry Standards / WCAG 2.0 / Compliance | Accessibility

Industry Standards

Industry standards are requirements that are followed by groups in one or multiple industries. For web developers, content creators, designers and everyone in-between, the standards below should be followed to ensure that their web content is accessible to all.

WCAG 2.0

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) established Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) version 2.0 “in cooperation with individuals and organizations around the world, with a goal of providing a single shared standard for web content accessibility that meets the needs of individuals, organizations, and governments internationally”( WCAG formulated 12 guidelines that are organized into four main principles:

  • Perceivable
  • Operable
  • Understandable
  • Robust

Each guideline has testable success criteria, partitioned into three levels: A, AA, and AAA.

  1. Level A is the minimum conformance level that pages must adhere to. Some examples of level A criteria include:
    • Link text is too generic in its current context
    • No headings on page
    • Image with no alt attribute
    • Link identified only by color
  2. Level AA is the medium conformance level that pages should adhere to. Level AA is met when it satisfies the criteria of both Level A and AA. Some examples of level AA criteria include:
    • Color contrast is insufficient
    • Images with text
  3. Level AAA is the highest conformance level that pages may adhere to. This level is nearly impossible to satisfy, as it is very difficult to meet level A, AA, and AAA criteria simultaneously. Therefore, it is not required for entire sites to meet this level.

Note: Level AA is what Chapman aims to adhere to. 


ADA Compliance

In September of 2010, the Department of Justice (DOJ) published the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Standards for Accessible Design. This “set minimum requirements – both scoping and technical — for newly designed and constructed or altered State and local government facilities, public accommodations, and commercial facilities to be readily accessible to and usable by individuals with disabilities”(

More information on ADA Compliance »

508 Compliance

Section 508 in the US Rehabilitation Act of 1973 contains several amendments that enforce “measures to mandate compliance for websites, documents, and applications developed with US Federal funding or for US Government agencies” (

More information on 508 Compliance »

WCAG 2.0 Compliance

The WCAG 2.0 Compliance is similar to the 508 compliance, but it’s more current, recognized internationally, and constantly evolving with the help of representatives from the accessibility community around the world.

More information on WCAG 2.0 Compliance »

Go to: Getting Started: Web Accessibility